24th Annual Research Symposium and Awards

Fifty-eight graduate students participated in the college's 24th annual Research Symposium on Thursday, March 21, 2013.

Posters were presented by nine master's students and 31 Ph.D. students. Eleven master's students and seven Ph.D. students gave research presentations.

Dr. Dwight Bowman, professor of parasitology from Cornell University's College of Veterinary Medicine, served as keynote speaker at the symposium.

Dr. Dwight Bowman and graduate students (Left to right) Dr. Mari Waterman, cardiology resident and M.S. candidate, Dr. Jodi Sangster,internal medicine resident and M.S. candidate, Dr. Dwight Bowman, professor ofparasitology at Cornell University and keynote speaker, and Dr. Rachel Matusow,ophthalmology resident and M.S. candidate.

All posters and presentations were judged by a faculty panel who selected the top posters and presentations. That evening eight graduate students, one professor, and two staff members received awards during a banquet at the Inn at Virginia Tech.

Poster and presentation awards went to:

Two staff members also received awards. Catherine Caldwell, administrative assistant for the Teaching and Research Animal Care Support Service (TRACSS), was honored with the Research & Graduate Studies Outstanding Co-Worker Recognition Award. Kay Carlson, molecular bacteriology, received the Research & Graduate Studies Outstanding Contribution Award.

Dr. Gerhardt Schurig, dean of the college, was awarded the 2013 Zoetis Award for Research Excellence for his work in developing vaccines against bovine brucellosis, a zoonotic disease that causes reproductive problems in cattle and undulant fever in humans. A professor and veterinary immunologist in the Department of Biomedical Sciences and Pathobiology, Schurig's RB-51 vaccine has become the global "gold standard" in bovine brucellosis control and played a major role in the virtual eradication of the cattle disease in the United States.

Dr. Avery, Dr. Schurig, and Dr. Crisman (Left to right) Dr. Roger Avery, senior associate dean for Research & Graduate Studies,Dr. Gerhardt Schurig, dean of the college and recipient of the 2013 Zoetis Award forResearch Excellence, and Dr. Mark Crisman, Zoetis Veterinary Operations