Center for Molecular Medicine & Infectious Diseases (CMMID)
CMMID   Research   Academics & Research   VA-MD Vet Med

Administration

Dr. Roger J. Avery, PhD Senior Associate Dean avery@vt.edu
Cyndi Booth Administrative Coordinator cgbooth@vt.edu

CMMID Faculty

Name Research Areas Email
Dr. Ansar Ahmed, DVM, PhD Immunology ansrahmd@vt.edu
Dr. Stephen M.Boyle, PhD (Emeritus) Molecular Genetics smboyle@vt.edu
Dr. Thomas Inzana, PhD Molecular & Clinical Bacteriology tinzana@vt.edu
Dr. Tanya LeRoith, DVM, PhD Pathology/Virology tleroith@vt.edu
Dr. David S. Lindsay, PhD Parasitology lindsayd@vt.edu
Dr. Xiang-Jin Meng, MD, PhD Molecular Virology xjmeng@vt.edu
Dr. Bill Pierson, DVM, PhD Avian Medicine/Virology pierson@vt.edu
Dr. Christopher Reilly, PhD Immunology/Physiology, VCOM faculty chreilly@vt.edu
Dr. Christopher Roberts, PhD Molecular Virology pcroberts@vt.edu
Dr. Gerhardt Schurig, DVM, PhD (Dean) Immunology cvmdean@vt.edu
Dr. Stephen A. Smith, DVM, PhD Aquatic Medicine stsmith7@vt.edu
Dr. Nammalwar Sriranganathan,
DVM, PhD
Molecular Bacteriology nathans@vt.edu
Dr. Elankumaran Subbiah,
BVSc, MVSc, PhD
Molecular Virology kumarans@vt.edu
Dr. Lijuan Yuan, PhD Molecular Virology lyuan@vt.edu
Dr. Sharon Witonsky, DVM, PhD Equine Medicine/
Immunology
switonsk@vt.edu
back to top

Research Assistant Professors

Dr. Aloka B.P.A. Bandara Molecular Microbiology abandara@vt.edu
back to top

Research Scientists/ Post Docs/ Associates

Dr. Nathan M. Beach Molecular Biology nbeach@vt.edu
Dr. Dianjun Cao Molecular Virology djcao@vt.edu
Dr. Laura Cordoba-Garcia Virology lcordoba@vt.edu
Dr. Rujuan Dai Immunology rdai05@vt.edu
Dr. Yaowei Huang Molecular Virology yhuang@vt.edu
Dr. Guohua Li Molecular Virology lguohua@vt.edu
Dr. Shujing Rao Molecular Virology shujingr@vt.edu
Dr. Indra Sandal Molecular and Clinical Bacteriology isandal@vt.edu
back to top

Emeritus/Retired Professors

Boyle, Stephen M. (Molecular Genetics) smboyle@vt.edu
Carter, Gordon grcarte@vt.edu
Domermuth, C.H cdomer@vt.edu
Gross, W.B. wbg@vt.edu
Larsen, Cal (Avian Medicine) clarsen@vt.edu
Misra, Hara (Molecular Toxicology)-EVVCOM faculty hmisra@vcom.vt.edu
Toth, Thomas (Virology) ttoth@vt.edu
back to top

Staff

Kay Carlson Molecular Bacteriology cbcarlsn@vt.edu
Bettina Heid Cancer Research/Immunology bheid@vt.edu
Mary Mainous Laboratory Technician memain@vt.edu
Nancy Tenpenny Molecular Gen./Parasitology ntenpenn@vt.edu
Michelle Todd Pathology/Virology smtodd@vt.edu
back to top

Glassware

Debby Saville Glassware dsaville@vt.edu
Doris Tickle Glassware dtickle@vt.edu
back to top

TRACSS

Pete Jobst TRACSS Animal Care Resource Manager pjobst@vt.edu
Catherine Caldwell TRACSS Administrative Assistant cacaldwe@vt.edu
Andrea Aman TRACSS aaman@vt.edu
Michelle Dobbins TRACSS dobbins1@vt.edu
Connie Kingrea TRACSS connie07@vt.edu
Steve Salmon TRACSS sjalmo@vt.edu
Elizabeth Shaver TRACSS shaver05@vt.edu
Marlice Vonck TRACSS mjvonck@vt.edu
Rob Woods TRACSS gwoods@vt.edu
back to top

Physical Plant Maintenance

Dale Hackney Maintenance Building whackney@vt.edu
back to top

Graduate Students

Tammy Bui DVM/PhD Candidate, Immunology and Virology
Advisor: Dr. Lijuan Yuan
hibiscus@vt.edu
Anna Champion Bacterial Biochemistry
Advisor: Dr. Inzana
annac@vt.edu
Amanda Gasser Virology
Advisor: Dr. Chris Roberts
algasser@vt.edu
Kusum Jasuja Bacterial Biochemistry
Advisor: Dr. Inzana
kjasuja@vt.edu
Gade Kimsawatde Molecular Bacteriology
Advisor: Dr. Nathan
gade@vt.edu
Sumanth Kumar Molecular Virology
Advisor: Dr. Meng
sumanthp@vt.edu
Megan Lighty Avian Medicine
Advisor: Dr. Pierson
mlighty@vt.edu
Yanyan Ni Immunopathobiology
Advisor: Dr. Meng
nyy7@vt.edu
Thomas Rogers-Cotrone Molecular Virology
Advisor: Dr Subbiah
trogersc@vt.edu
Cheryl Ryder Bacterial Biochemistry
Advisor: Dr. Inzana
cryder@vt.edu
Ke Wen Molecular Virology
Advisor: Dr. Yuan
wenke316@vt.edu
back to top

CMMID | VMRCVM
Virginia Tech (0342)
1410 Prices Fork Rd
Blacksburg, VA 24061
(540) 231-6377
Expanded CMMID facility:
CMMID-CRC (0491)
1800 Kraft Drive, 2nd floor
Blacksburg, VA 24061
(540) 231-1995