DLACS
DLACS Departments VA-MD Vet Med

DLACS Roster

Please note that DLACS Faculty members are unable to offer medical assistance or answer unsolicited questions about animal health and treatment via email. For information about scheduling a consultation, please visit the Harry T. Peters Large Animal Hospital web site.

Administration

David R. Hodgson Department Head hodgson@vt.edu
William S. Swecker, Jr. Associate Department Head cvmwss@vt.edu
Ruth Meade Administrative Assistant rmeade@vt.edu
Heather Parrish Administrative Assistant parrish1@vt.edu
Linda Price Office Assistant liprice1@vt.edu

Professors

Virginia Buechner-Maxwell DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVIM, Large Animal Medicine bmax@vt.edu
Martin O. Furr DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVIM, Adelaide C. Riggs Chair in Equine Medicine mfurr@vt.edu
David R. Hodgson BVSc, PhD, Diplomate ACVIM, Large Animal Medicine hodgson@vt.edu
Kevin D. Pelzer DVM, MPVM, Diplomate ACVPM,
Production Management Medicine,
Epidemiology, Swine and Small Ruminant Medicine
kpelzer@vt.edu
R. Scott Pleasant DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS, Equine Field Service, Equine Extension, Director of Equine Podiatry Unit rpleasan@vt.edu
Kenneth E. Sullins DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS, Equine Surgery sullins@vt.edu
William S. Swecker, Jr. DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVN,
Production Management Medicine, Clinical Nutrition
cvmwss@vt.edu
W. Dee Whittier DVM, MS, Production Management Medicine/
Bovine Specialist, Veterinary Extension
dwit@vt.edu

Associate Professors

Jennifer G. Barrett DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVS, Diplomate ACVSMR, Theodora Ayer Randolph Professor of Equine Surgery jgbarrett@vt.edu
Christopher Byron DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS, Large Animal Surgery cbyron@vt.edu
Sherrie Clark DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACT, Theriogenology sherrie@vt.edu
Linda A. Dahlgren DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVS, Large Animal Surgery lad11@vt.edu
Harold C. McKenzie, III DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVIM, Large Animal Medicine hmckenzi@vt.edu
W. Kent Scarratt DVM, Diplomate ACVIM, Large Animal Medicine kscrat@vt.edu
Sharon G. Witonsky DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVIM,
Production Management Medicine, Equine Field Service
switonsk@vt.edu

Clinical Associate Professor

John F. Currin DVM, Diplomate ABVP,
Production Management Medicine,
Ruminant Health Extension, Bovine Specialist
jcurrin@vt.edu

Research Associate Professor

Willard Eyestone MS, PhD, Reproductive Physiology, Biotechnology weyest@vt.edu

Clinical Assistant Professors

M. Norris Adams DVM, Diplomate ACVS, Equine Lameness & Surgery mnadams@vt.edu
James A. Brown BVSc, MS, Diplomate ACT, Diplomate ACVS, Equine Surgery jbrown07@vt.edu
Julie Cecere DVM, MS, Diplomate ACT, Theriogenology juliet@vt.edu
Dana Reeder Cook DVM, Diplomate ABVP (equine), Equine Field Service docdana@vt.edu
Anne M. Desrochers DMV, Diplomate ACVIM, Equine Internal Medicine desroann@vt.edu
Rebecca Ann Funk DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVIM, Equine Field Service rafunk@vt.edu
William Gilsenan VMD, Diplomate ACVIM, Production Management Medicine gilsenan@vt.edu
Sierra Guynn DVM, PhD, Production Management Medicine sguynn@vt.edu
Julie McGhee Settlage DVM, Diplomate ACVS, Large Animal Surgery jmcghee@vt.edu
Hollie Schramm DVM, Food Animal Ambulatory and
Production Management Medicine
hschramm@vt.edu
Megan Shepherd DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVN, Clinical Nutrition meshephe@vt.edu
Katherine E. Wilson DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVIM, Large Animal Medicine kewilson@vt.edu

Clinical Instructors

Marcos Santos DVM, MS, Large Animal Surgery marcoss@vt.edu

Lecturer

Travis Burns CJF, TE, AWCF, Lecturer, Chief of Farrier Services, Equine Podiatry Service btravis@vt.edu

Resident - Clinical

Heidi Allen DVM, Clinical Nutrition
Hope Center
 

Residents - MS Graduate Students

Sophie H. Bogers BVSc, Equine Surgery s0phie@vt.edu
Nimet Browne DVM, Large Animal Medicine nimetb@vt.edu
Lauren Groom BVSc, Equine Surgery lg9342@vt.edu
Sarah Holland DVM, Production Animal Medicine holland3@vt.edu
Nathaniel Jue DVM, Theriogenology ncjue@vt.edu
Elsa Ludwig DVM, Large Animal Surgery eludwig@vt.edu
Elizabeth MacDonald BVMS, MRCVS, Equine Internal Medicine esmbvms@vt.edu
Nick Parkinson MA VetMB, CertEM MRCVS, Large Animal Medicine nickp32@vt.edu
Amy Santonastaso VMD, Equine Field Service santonas@vt.edu
Richard Trahan DVM, Large Animal Surgery richat5@vt.edu

Interns

Hillary Feldmann DVM, Food Animal Ambulatory/Production Medicine hfeldmann@vt.edu
Jamie Secoura CJF, Podiatry jsecoura@vt.edu
Lydia Mudd DVM, Equine Field Service ljmudd2@vt.edu

PhD Graduate Students

Maria Cristina Villafranca Locher DVM, Stem Cells/Regenerative Medicine villm07@vt.edu
Hassan Mahsoub MS, Animal Science hmahsoub@vt.edu

DVM/PhD Graduate Students

Megan Lighty BS, Poultry Medicine mlighty@vt.edu
Jessica Walters BS, Poultry Medicine jnwal06@vt.edu
Kaylyn Williams BS, Stem Cells/Regenerative Medicine krwill89@vt.edu

Emeritus Professors

John M. Bowen B.Vet. Med., F.R.C.V.S., Diplomate ACT jmbowen@vt.edu
G. Frederick Fregin VMD, Equine Cardiology
Walter B. Gross DVM, MS, Avian Medicine wbg@vt.edu
Beverly J. Purswell DVM, MS, PhD, Diplomate ACT, Large Animal Medicine,
Theriogenology
purswell@vt.edu
Nathaniel A. White, II DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS, Equine Surgery nawhite2@vt.edu

Emeritus Associate Professors

Calvert T. Larsen DVM, M.P.H., PhD, Avian Medicine, Avian Specialist clarsen@vt.edu
Kent C. Roberts DVM, Extension krdvm@vt.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Iveta Becvarova DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVN, Veterinary Nutrition
M. J. Bowen B.V.Sc., QLd. M.R.C.V.S., Theriogenology
Mark V. Crisman DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVIM, Large Animal Medicine
Stuart Porter DVM, Wildlife Medicine
Jonathan Sleeman VetMB, MRCVS, Wildlife Medicine
Scott J. Stahl DVM, Exotic Animal Medicine
Michelle Tilghman DVM, Complementary Medicine