DLACS
DLACS Roster DLACS arrow Departments VA-MD Vet Med

DLACS Disciplines

Administration

David R. Hodgson Department Head hodgson@vt.edu
William S. Swecker, Jr. Associate Department Head cvmwss@vt.edu
Ruth Meade Administrative Assistant rmeade@vt.edu
Heather Parrish Administrative Assistant parrish1@vt.edu
Linda Price Office Assistant liprice1@vt.edu

Bovine Medicine

John F. Currin DVM, Diplomate ABVP, Production Management Medicine,
Ruminant Health Extension, Bovine Specialist
jcurrin@vt.edu
W. Dee Whittier DVM, MS, Production Management Medicine/Bovine Specialist,
Veterinary Extension
dwit@vt.edu

Epidemiology

Kevin D. Pelzer DVM, MPVM, Diplomate ACVPM, Production Management Medicine,
Epidemiology, Swine and Small Ruminant Medicine
kpelzer@vt.edu

Equine Field Service

Dana Reeder Cook DVM, Diplomate ABVP (equine), Equine Field Service docdana@vt.edu
Rebecca Ann Funk DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVIM, Equine Field Service rafunk@vt.edu
Lydia Mudd DVM, Equine Field Service Intern ljmudd2@vt.edu
R. Scott Pleasant DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS, Equine Field Service, Equine Extension, Director of Equine Podiatry Unit rpleasan@vt.edu
Amy Santonastaso VMD, Equine Field Service Resident santonas@vt.edu
Sharon G. Witonsky DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVIM, Production Management Medicine,
Equine Field Service
switonsk@vt.edu

Equine Podiatry Service

Travis Burns CJF, TE, AWCF, Lecturer, Chief of Farrier Services, Equine Podiatry Service btravis@vt.edu
R. Scott Pleasant DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS, Equine Field Service, Equine Extension, Director of Equine Podiatry Service rpleasan@vt.edu
Jamie Secoura Podiatry Intern jsecoura@vt.edu

Extension

John F. Currin DVM, Diplomate ABVP, Production Management Medicine,
Ruminant Health Extension, Bovine Specialist
jcurrin@vt.edu
R. Scott Pleasant DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS, Equine Field Service, Equine Extension, Director of Equine Podiatry Unit rpleasan@vt.edu
W. Dee Whittier DVM, MS, Production Management Medicine/Bovine Specialist,
Veterinary Extension
dwit@vt.edu

Large Animal Medicine

Nimet Browne DVM, Large Animal Medicine Resident nimetb@vt.edu
Virginia Buechner-Maxwell DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVIM, Large Animal Medicine bmax@vt.edu
David R. Hodgson BVSc, PhD, Diplomate ACVIM, Large Animal Medicine hodgson@vt.edu
Harold C. McKenzie, III DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVIM, Large Animal Medicine hmckenzi@vt.edu
Nick Parkinson MA VetMB, CertEM MRCVS, Large Animal Medicine Resident nickp32@vt.edu
W. Kent Scarratt DVM, Diplomate ACVIM, Large Animal Medicine kscrat@vt.edu
Katherine E. Wilson DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVIM, Large Animal Medicine kewilson@vt.edu

Large Animal Surgery

Christopher Byron DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS, Large Animal Surgery cbyron@vt.edu
Linda A. Dahlgren DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVS, Large Animal Surgery lad11@vt.edu
Elsa Ludwig DVM, Large Animal Surgery Resident eludwig@vt.edu
Julie McGhee Settlage DVM, Diplomate ACVS, Large Animal Surgery jmcghee@vt.edu
Richard Trahan DVM, Large Animal Surgery Resident richat5@vt.edu

Nutrition

Heidi Allen DVM, Veterinary Nutrition Resident
Hope Center
 
Megan Shepherd DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVN, Clinical Nutrition meshephe@vt.edu
William S. Swecker, Jr. DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVN, Production Management Medicine,
Clinical Nutrition
cvmwss@vt.edu

Production Management Medicine

John F. Currin DVM, Diplomate ABVP, Production Management Medicine,
Ruminant Health Extension, Bovine Specialist
jcurrin@vt.edu
Hillary Feldmann DVM, Food Animal Ambulatory and
Production Medicine Intern
hfeldmann@vt.edu
William Gilsenan VMD, Diplomate ACVIM, Production Management Medicine gilsenan@vt.edu
Sierra Guynn DVM, PhD, Production Management Medicine sguynn@vt.edu
Sarah Holland DVM, Production Management Medicine Resident holland3@vt.edu
Kevin D. Pelzer DVM, MPVM, Diplomate ACVPM, Production Management Medicine,
Epidemiology, Swine and Small Ruminant Medicine
kpelzer@vt.edu
Hollie Schramm DVM, Food Animal Ambulatory and
Production Management Medicine
hschramm@vt.edu
William S. Swecker, Jr. DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVN, Production Management Medicine,
Clinical Nutrition
cvmwss@vt.edu
W. Dee Whittier DVM, MS, Production Management Medicine/Bovine Specialist,
Veterinary Extension
dwit@vt.edu
Sharon G. Witonsky DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACVIM, Production Management Medicine,
Equine Field Services
switonsk@vt.edu

Swine and Small Ruminant Medicine

Kevin D. Pelzer DVM, MPVM, Diplomate ACVPM,
Production Management Medicine,
Epidemiology, Swine and Small Ruminant Medicine
kpelzer@vt.edu

Theriogenology

Julie Cecere DVM, MS, Diplomate ACT, Theriogenology juliet@vt.edu
Sherrie Clark DVM, PhD, Diplomate ACT, Theriogenology sherrie@vt.edu
Nathaniel Jue DVM, Theriogenology ncjue@vt.edu