Referring Veterinarians

Our Veterinarians & Staff

radiograph The Marion duPont Scott Equine Medical Center is staffed by a highly skilled team of dedicated veterinarians, licensed veterinary technicians, and nurses. Our team includes board certified clinicians in internal medicine, reproduction, and surgery as well as graduate residents in medicine and surgery. In addition, fourth year veterinary students from the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine rotate through the hospital for three to six weeks of specialized training in equine medicine and surgery. Our competent, caring, and compassionate staff includes specialized pharmacy, imaging, laboratory, operating room, anesthesia and nursing professionals.

Faculty & Administrative Staff (Alphabetical Order)

Internal Medicine Faculty

Anne M. Desrochers, DMV, Diplomate ACVIM
Clinical Assistant Professor in Equine Medicine

Martin O. Furr, DVM, Ph.D., Diplomate ACVIM
Professor and Adelaide C. Riggs Chair in Equine Medicine

Internal Medicine Residents

Crystal Hoffman, DVM
Resident in Equine Medicine

Elizabeth MacDonald, BVMS, MRCVS

Orthopedic and Soft Tissue Surgery Faculty

M. Norris Adams, DVM, Diplomate ACVS
Clinical Assistant Professor in Equine Lameness & Surgery

Jennifer G. Barrett, DVM, Ph.D., Diplomate ACVS, Diplomate ACVSMR
Theodora Ayer Randolph Professor of Equine Surgery

James A. Brown, BVSc, MS, Diplomate ACT, Diplomate ACVS
Clinical Assistant Professor of Equine Surgery

Adriana Guedes Alves da Silva, DVM, MS
Clinical Instructor in Anesthesia and Critical Care

Kenneth E. Sullins, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS
Professor of Equine Surgery

Nathaniel A. White, II, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS
Professor Emeritus of Equine Surgery

Surgery Service Residents

Sophie H. Bogers, BVSc
Resident in Equine Surgery

Kendra Freeman, DVM
Resident in Equine Surgery

Administrative Staff

Penny Archer
Practice Manager Systems Analyst and Director of Volunteer Services

Audrey Cadle
Admissions/Discharge and Patient Accounts Manager

Cathy Duerbeck
Manager, Business Office and Client Services

Susan Egerton
Client Care and Patient Services Coordinator

Michael Erskine, DVM, Diplomate ABVP (Equine)
Interim Director

Richard V. Gargagliano, MSPH, FACHE
Director of Development and Strategic Planning

David R. Hodgson, BVSc, PhD, Diplomate ACVIM, FACSM
Professor and Head, Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences

Sharon Peart
Administrative Assistant to the Director

Carol Saunders
Accounts Payable

Betsy Galloway

Ryan J. Zmuda
IT Manager